Q & A's

What do you do? Do you have a job?

I'm studying to receive my law degree in May of 2011. I have a clerkship with a district attorney's office where I prosecute juvenile cases. After May I plan on studying for the Bar.

What kind of lawyer do you want to be?

When I figure that out, I'll let you know. I'm all over the map. I'm specializing in taxation law but work as a prosecutor. Love both.

What do you do in your free time?

I train and watch copious amounts of TV. Aside from working toward athletic goals, there is nothing better then watching mindless cooking shows and reality TV. I also enjoy cooking. I currently live and work 120 miles from where I go to school. I also moved back home with my mother for the rest of the semester. Once I get back on my own after I graduate, I cannot wait to have my own kitchen again and get back to some food blogging.

Do you consider yourself as having a Type A or Type B personality?

It depends. I'm anal retentive in certain aspects of my life but most of my peers consider me very laid back. Granted, my peers are anal retentive Type A law students/lawyers. I am very competitive with myself. I strive to do well in school, but the grading system, in my opinion, is outrageously slightly subjective. When it comes to triathlons or other physical competitions I'm really competing with myself to get a faster time. I'm more likely to beat myself up over a “failed” athletic goal over an academic one.

Do you follow any diets or workouts?

I have to follow a gluten-free diet for health reasons. This wasn't a choice I made to lose weight or to be trendy. I also try to follow a “clean” eating style and try to avoid processed foods. This however, has gone to complete crap since I moved back in with my mom. I have control issues and when it comes to my food I need to be in 100% control. I need to be able to control what comes in and out of my kitchen because if it's in the pantry, I will eat it. Do I consider this unhealthy? No. I consider eating foods that have ridiculous shelf lives and chemicals are unhealthy. I feel better when I put good things in my body and I preform better as well.

As far as my exercise, I do what feels right to achieve my goals. I look over training plans for whatever race I am working towards. I respect the necessity of a rest day. I also feel like crap when I don't workout, so that keeps me going. I have also come to realize that my body image is better when I workout, no matter my physical measurements. Win-win.

What is your athletic background?

I grew up dancing from the age of 3.  It wasn't until high school when I really explored sports.  I come from a pretty sedative family so high school athletics were an amazing opportunity for me.  I ran track, ski raced, and played water polo.  I played some water polo in college and still ski, though no racing anymore.

What is your favorite food?

I-C-E-C-R-E-A-M. Since I try to follow a healthful lifestyle... sushi is a close second

Do you have/want any children?

Seeing that I am a giant child myself, kids right now are not a priority. In the future? Yes. I'm too selfish right now to even think about that.  I deal with a lot of cases involving child welfare and it's a scary world out there to be a kid.  I want to be able to be the best parent I can be when that time comes. I do have a furchild that I am obsessed with. I rescued him back in college from a local shelter and if there is a real thing as 'love at first sight', he was it.

What are some of your daily goals?

I constantly try to work of making myself a better person. When I notice my own pet peeves, I try to make sure I'm not doing those things either. When something about someone bothers me, I work to try not to follow those same traits/actions.

More questions?  Email me at: tryandtriagain@gmail.com